Dry Begging

Raise your hand if you know what Dry Begging is…  For those of you who don’t watch Judge Mathis, dry begging is when you don’t specifically ASK someone for something.  You dance around the subject, drop hints like Johnny Appleseed drops –well, you know what he drops; you allude to what you need without actually asking for it.  Then, when the other person asks if you need it, you can always tell yourself (or the Judge) that it was their idea in the first place.  Guilt-free begging.  It was a gift, Your Honor, I didn’t ask her to pay for my new Ferrari…

I have a short list of people I would want to write a recommendation for me, should I ever actually write a book.  At least, so far it’s a short list.  I might come up with a lot more names, based on the theory that you have to send out a lot of flyers in a mass mailing to get only one or two sales.

The first person I would ask is a living legend.  A woman of brilliance and wit. A woman whose insight leaves me breathless – from laughing.  I would ask Nora Ephron.  After all, she is the Good Fairy who showed me that I wasn’t alone in hating my neck.  Her take on her life almost invariably strikes a chord in my Woodstock altered brain. I have no clue how I would make it happen, probably just send her a copy and ask her what she thought.  Or, if she could say something nice.  I might remind her that my Nana used to say “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.”  Then again, even something Not Nice from Nora Ephron might make people want to read what she didn’t like.  Some might call that an Interesting Perspective.  I call it taking what I can get…

I would also ask my friend and mentor Janet Powers.  Janet is the reason I am writing now. (In case you wanted to know who to blame.) Janet is the reason I have an Internet Radio Show on BlogTalkRadio.  Janet is the reason that I occasionally suffer from Frozen Butt Syndrome.  (If you are part of the Author Blog Challenge, you gotta know how that feels!)  I would send her a copy and ask her to share her thoughts.  Just like with the esteemed Ms. Ephron, I would take either bad or good from Janet, and be grateful for it.

The last person on my short list would be my husband.  No dry begging necessary here.  Just the complete trust and love between two people that lets me know I can always count on him to give me his real, truthful, unbiased opinion that I am a brilliant writer.  And the confidence that comes from knowing we have been married long enough for him to know that, when there is a bear trap right in front of him, he should jump over it, not step on it.

Sandi Tuttle is the host of the Blog Talk Radio show “An Average Woman in a Superwoman World” (http://www.blogtalkradio.com/sandi-tuttle).

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in Aging, Body Image, Humor, Mentors, Self Confidence, Self Improvement, Uncategorized, women, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dry Begging

  1. ROFL!! I would never EVER have asked my husband. He is an overcritical ass. :) Ask Jo, too! I rock reviews :) WRITE ON!

  2. Sandi Tuttle says:

    I will remember! Should I still ask Nora Ephron?… Hugz

Leave a Reply

