The Only Outline I Have Is On My Lips

Describe your outline process for your book. What do you do to stay organized?

Two really easy questions.  I should be done in a snap on this one!

I don’t have an outline process.  Not exactly sure what that is.  I tried to think about where I might have an outline in my life.  And I came to the sobering conclusion that the only outlining I do is with a lip pencil, before I put on lipstick.  I do this because my lips have slowly been disappearing for the past 10 years.  Unlike my waistline, which disappeared overnight.  (I looked under the bed, in the garage, and figured out that it was lost for good.)  I try to outline what’s left of my lips to keep them from looking like these two little bumpy red lines at the bottom of my face.  Not my best look.  And I am not one of those people who will get lip injections.  The thought of taking fat out of my nether regions and putting it around my mouth is just beyond bizarre, as well as being counter-intuitive.  I have struggled for 57 years NOT to have fat anywhere near my mouth if I could help it.  Why pay someone to put it there?  I don’t see the logic.

As far as what I do to stay organized, I keep lists to keep me on track on a daily basis.  I have scores of scribbles on pieces of paper on my desk with ideas I haven’t worked on yet.  I have piles of unfiled manila folders with stuff in them. Each chair in the office has its own designated pile.  One for last year, one for this year, one for the stuff I don’t know where to put anywhere else.  Seems pretty organized to me.

I do have some additional forms of organization in my life.  I have the different types of hangers separated in my laundry room, so if I need one for pants, I’m not trying to get it untangled from 50 other wire hangers on the rack.  I also have a few under bed shoe organizers, except that if I put the shoes under the bed I forget that I have them, and then go out and buy more.  So they are usually stacked in a corner of my closet where I can see I have additional choices before I head over to DSW with my discount coupon!

Does putting my necklaces, earrings and bracelets in snack size Ziplock bags count?  They are all neatly placed in a pile in a drawer…

Sandi Tuttle is the host of the Blog Talk Radio show “An Average Woman in a Superwoman World” (http://www.blogtalkradio.com/sandi-tuttle).

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in Humor, Self Improvement, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Only Outline I Have Is On My Lips

  1. Zen says:

    I can relate to this. xD I like having things all over the place, and I’m not one for organizing my ideas on paper. It’s more fun that way!

  2. WIRE HANGERS?! WIRE HANGERS?! 🙂 If you don’t know that movie reference, I don’t know what to say. Hahaha. I used to be a pile of papers kinna gal. Until I started college and enrolled in Graphic Design courses. That one lost brief… Excellent post today. WRITE ON!!

  3. homebadger says:

    Thanx! OMG, wire hangers… didn’t even click. Well, at least I am prepared for Any situation 🙂
    You too! Keep writin!

  4. Su says:

    If your system works for you, why change it? Good job, Sis!

  5. Rebecca Fyfe says:

    LOL! Your organizational skills mirror my own! 🙂 I especially saw myself in this:
    “As far as what I do to stay organized, I keep lists to keep me on track on a daily basis. I have scores of scribbles on pieces of paper on my desk with ideas I haven’t worked on yet. I have piles of unfiled manila folders with stuff in them. Each chair in the office has its own designated pile. One for last year, one for this year, one for the stuff I don’t know where to put anywhere else. Seems pretty organized to me.”

  6. Lisa cherry says:

    I too have a desk full of bits of paper with scribbles on. I also have several journals (one in each room) so that I can stuff my ramblings in those too…..I do think that ziplock bags are the ultimate in organisation and no, I don’t have any myself ;0) x

Leave a Reply

