Undercover Angels

Sometimes, the best ideas come from the most unexpected places.  I keep finding this is true.  I have had the best things come out of whimsical moments.  This, as far as I am concerned, is pure serendipity.

Take, for example, the artwork for my Internet Radio Show, “An Average Woman in a Superwoman World”.  That whole idea started out as a head shot shoot with my good friend Julie Basello-Holt.  She owns the Creative Genius Gallery in Medford, New Jersey, and is also an amazing photographer.  (Just wait until you see the wedding pics she did for my daughter!)  I needed head shots for my website, Facebook, etc. and I knew no one could make me look as good as Julie – not even a plastic surgeon.

The day of the shoot, I thought I might want something fun for the show. Channeling the whole Superwoman theme, I grabbed a length of fabric from my workroom on the way to her studio.  We shot the traditional indoor pictures,  then took our act outside.  We were shooting in a neighboring yard, having a good time joking and throwing out ideas.  I tied the fabric around my neck, and flattened myself against the brick wall, mostly as a joke.  With a click and snap, Julie ended up capturing exactly how I feel about life in general: a good laugh is like the oil in the engine of your day.

When I sent the pics to my friend Janet Powers, the Chief Executive Diva of the Diva Toolbox, she had another off the cuff idea: why not use the superwoman shot for my business cards?  Why not, indeed.  I thought it was a different idea, and fun (besides the added benefit of it being such a faraway shot that the whole turkey neck thing wasn’t visible).  Off I went to hack my way through the Vistaprint interface, adding words to the picture, and committing my whimsy to paper.

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/sandi-tuttleThe visual has been great – people laugh, and they remember me.  What more can I possibly ask from a business card?  Thanks to my good angels, Julie, Janet and Funny Bone, I have something that says it all.

I have a new visual expression of my alter ego coming soon.  In fact, I am hoping by the end of the month.  My new website is going to be up and running (as long as I’m not sleeping on the job and I keep cranking out the stuff for the developer).  Julie came up with the logo, after many different attempts critiqued by Janet (I need a sanity check, folks).  I also came up with a new apparel item to bring to the table.  And that is where my next undercover angel comes in.

I have said many times, the phrase I hear most often in my job at the dress shop is: I hate my arms.  Sure, there are times when I am tempted to say: “Well, the alternative is you would be brushing your teeth with your feet, so I think you should just go with what you’ve got”, but that sounds a bit flippant, don’t you think?  Almost every time I hear a woman say those words, she is holding her arms in the air, flapping.  Yes, flapping.  (Amazing how female bonding works, isn’t it?)

So, one day I said “Someday I will do a tee shirt and have it say ‘If I have wings, why can’t I fly?’”.  Pan the camera to the customer, who is laughing…  After who knows how many repetitions of that comment, my husband said “Why don’t you just make the tee shirt?”

Duh.  Why didn’t I think of that, you ask?  Well, I did.  And I can’t draw a straight line with a ruler.  Yes, it’s true.  I can see all these things in my mind, but my brain is writing checks that my talent can’t cash.

Enter, Stage Right, my newest undercover angel.  My stepdaughter, Amanda Tuttle, who is a gifted artist.  Very gifted.  And that isn’t just bias talking.  She is amazing.  Who better to ask?  She knows me, knows my somewhat quirky take on life, and she is good.

Wings Tee ShirtMy ‘Littlest Angel’ came through with bells on!  Mandy came up with a graphic that works, the perfect font, and a tee shirt is born!  I will be putting it out there for sale on my website as soon as I get the new labels from the label-maker, and the website is up and running!  The coolest thing about it is that it captures what I want to say while being subtle.  We can laugh at ourselves without being mean to ourselves.  As they say – Priceless.

Having angels who don’t let me hide under the covers, or between the covers, is such a blessing!

Sandi Tuttle is the host of the Blog Talk Radio show “An Average Woman in a Superwoman World” (http://www.blogtalkradio.com/sandi-tuttle).

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in Aging, Body Image, Fashion, Humor, Mentors, Self Confidence, Self Improvement, women, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Undercover Angels

  1. Rebecca Fyfe says:

    Wonderful! Love the shirt! 🙂

  2. homebadger says:

    Thanx! First time I’ve put pics in my blogs… Please remember and check out the website when it’s up and running!!!!!

  3. Fun and cute! I am going to beg for a moment (forgive me) PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PUT IT ON A HUGE COFFEE MUG!! Then, let me know where I can get one 🙂 WRITE ON!!

  4. homebadger says:

    That’s the plan! Gotta get some tee shirts sold first….. But you will get the first mug! 🙂

Leave a Reply

