Nobody Expects the Spanish Inquisition

This whole social networking, blogging, writing, podcasting world has been a challenging process.  For somebody who was born in the time of the rotary phone and black and white televisions, dealing with Cloud computing and virtual reality is pretty scary.  I have trouble navigating real reality on most days – virtual reality is beyond me.

Besides the obvious issues like lack of training, lack of elastic thought processes, lack of familiarity with the technology, lack of need to use the technology, lack of finding the technology fun, lack of other people in my age group who also like the technology, and lack of funds to spend on endless upgrades and new applications, my biggest challenge in this brave new world is lack of hours.  In other words, learning how to manage my time and do it all.

I have 24 hours in a day, like most people I know.  Contrary to what you might hear, ‘older’ people can’t just zip along on 3 or 4 hours sleep.  That was when I was a teenager, not after surviving teenagers.  So, knock out at least 5 to 6 hours for sleep.  That leaves 18 hours.  In those 18 hours, I also take care of a house, two big dogs, and one excellent husband.  I cook 7 days a week.  I do the laundry and yes, I also iron. (It’s that thing you do with that triangle shaped hot thing on a padded table, for those of you who grew up never seeing such a thing… )  I vacuum, dust (occasionally), do the food shopping, the appointment setting, and the bill paying.  I work out of the house 2 days a week, and in the house 7 days a week.

In addition, I have a weekly radio show to prep for, and a sewing business to maintain.  I have to do the marketing, advertising, designing, production, inventory, set up the guest speakers, write the scripts, plan the roll out, plan the follow up and think ahead to the next week.  I keep up with friends and families, read like a bookworm with a tapeworm, practice Yoga and never miss an episode of Judge Judy.  The only thing I don’t have to do is be dressed for success by 7AM every morning.  Not yet.  However, if the YouTube video thing gets any bigger, I may have to put my makeup on and get dressed for the next day before I go to bed, just to keep on schedule!

Time is a valuable commodity in my world.  Making the time to learn as much as possible about all this schmutz is pretty challenging.  At least when I have to decide whether it is more important get a milestone for my own business completed or spend the same 20 minutes pinning on Pinterest or stumbling on StumbleUpon to build my network, so that perhaps those people will follow what I am doing.  It’s all a series of trade-offs, and sometimes it gets pretty overwhelming.

I used to have a pretty good idea what to expect on most days.  Before the Social Networking revolution, I knew how long it took me to do the ‘regular’ things, and I knew my time budget for ‘my’ things.  Now, every day brings some new facet of social media that I absolutely, positively MUST master, or be left behind in a cloud of dust raised by my competitors and most of the people who are younger than I am.

If you are old enough to know where the title of this blog entry comes from, you are old enough to know what I am saying.  There are days when I wish I would have known how all-consuming it can be.  There are other days when I wish I knew where to get an extra half hour without the whole house of cards crashing down.  I wish I knew when to use a hashtag on Twitter.  I wish I had known what I didn’t know and wish I knew now what I thought I knew then.  All I do know is that I have no idea what to expect.

When it comes to keeping up with all the newest things, and getting my life done every day, I am learning to expect the unexpected.  I think my new business model should be: Nobody Expects the Spanish Inquisition!

Sandi Tuttle is the host of the Blog Talk Radio show “An Average Woman in a Superwoman World” (http://www.blogtalkradio.com/sandi-tuttle).

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in Aging, Current Events, Humor, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nobody Expects the Spanish Inquisition

  1. ghostnapped says:

    Have to agree with you completely, I find the whole process very time consuming and I have an equally busy lifestyle. I would rather spend my spare time (ha – if it exists) writing, but is there any point if no one reads it? I figure in time my kids will be better than me anyway so they can work it all out then!

    • homebadger says:

      Ha! I’m only now getting my kids to read my stuff… I love your puppies! I am a dog person, too! Two rescue dogs so far. I am hoping to work with them and train them to become certified therapy dogs – now that my daughter’s wedding is over, I have time again… sort of… Thanx for following me!

  2. Melissa says:

    I agree with you too… I had a similar discussion with a friend this evening about how time consuming social media is, and how hard it is for an introvert to be so engaged all the time…

    • homebadger says:

      Sometimes it feels like the entire world is conspiring to drag me, kicking and screaming, out of my nice, safe little shell… It ain’t so bad out there, tho…

  3. When I’m not involved in something like this blog challenge, I only give one hour a day to social networking and then not at ALL on the weekends. Weekends are mine, to do with what I choose. Like Elise said today, there must be a balance. If you have to, get out a day planner and plan your day from start to finish. Then, follow that plan like it’s gospel. NO deviations. Once you have it down, it’ll stick. It takes fourteen days to form a new habit. It’ll feel like second nature after you stick to it. WRITE ON!

    • homebadger says:

      I tried to keep it like that – but with the new website coming out, I have increased my time on the networking to try to get awareness going… I rarely do any of that on the weekends, tho. Like you, weekends are for me! Ok, Saturdays are for me working at the dress store. Sundays are for me… ok, Sundays are sometimes for walking in 5k events for things… you get the picture!

      I like the 14 day thing! Once the website is going, I am going to try it! Love your tips!
      Sandi
      ps – talking to a woman at 2:00 today about mugs….. I’ll let you know! 🙂

  4. You have a sandwich maker too! (name *that* movie…hee hee)

    I would like to share with you a little secret. Nobody (on social media) knows what they are doing. There are no *experts*, no *gurus*. The technology is too new and changes too fast. Just do what works for you and do *that* well. If you can only spend 15 minutes a day on Facebook, rock those 15 minutes. If you hate twitter, dump it. If you are happy, your content will reflect that. I have been finding luck with writing a weeks worth of posts in one day and then spending the rest of the week tweaking and refining. My blog has theme days (if only in my own head). Oh, and I picked up a trick from Goddess Leonie – she schedules all of her tweets and status updates for the week at once. There are tons of things to try (I think I feel a blog post coming on. LOL). Find what works for you. =D

Leave a Reply

