If A Tweet Posts in the Forest

I confess: I am in Social Media Overload.  Between Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, StumbleUpon, Tumblr and Pinterest, I don’t know when to Like, Tweet, Link, Stumble, Tumble or stick pins in myself.

I really like having access to all these sites.  All this information.  All these fascinating people and things.  Sometimes I feel the heady excitement I imagine I would feel if I was turned loose in Bloomingdales with my ex’s Platinum Card.  I wouldn’t know where to spend first!  Same with all this stuff.  Some days I forget to Pin.  Other days I am too tired to stumble.  I can’t figure out how to LinkIn with all my groups at the same time, so I have to go through the whole click and post thing, over and over.  I know the answer is out there somewhere, but I don’t have the magic touch with “Help” search engines.  This is pretty bizarre, when you remember that I used to write online help for operating systems…

The social media aspect I rely on the most to promote what I do is my Internet Radio Show, “An Average Woman in a Superwoman World”.  I started it as advertising, and it has become my main product.  I work on getting wonderful guests, and hope that some of their twittering friends will stumble upon my show page and pin a couple of episodes.

I have been getting steady growth, which makes me think I am on the right track.  I know I have a lot more to do, and I am planning my work and working my plan.  I remind myself that baby steps will get me there, I don’t have to run.  (This is a blessing considering I found out I have totally forgotten how to walk in 4” heels.  SO sad!)  I celebrate when I find out someone is following me on Twitter, because I figure it is because they like what I am saying or doing.  (Please don’t burst my bubble.)

When I give it a little thought, I realize that I don’t know enough yet to figure out what I don’t know, so I am clueless when it comes to where I should put more effort and what I should pass up as “… not the most effective use of my time…”. Everybody else may know, but I’m still struggling.  Not drowning, just dog paddling.

I’m sure that, over time, I will become savvier and use these tools more efficiently.  I know that there are a whole bunch of questions I should be asking: Where am I getting the best reach, how can I increase my presence with my target market, etc.  So many questions and so little time.  The old story.

I guess I’ll just keep tumbling along.  Perhaps, someday, over the rainbow, I will even learn the answer to one of man’s age old questions:  If a tweet posts in the forest, does anyone hear it?

Sandi Tuttle is the host of the Blog Talk Radio show “An Average Woman in a Superwoman World” (http://www.blogtalkradio.com/sandi-tuttle).

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in Aging, Current Events, Humor, Self Confidence, Self Improvement, Social Media, women, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If A Tweet Posts in the Forest

  1. Andy Szpuk says:

    I used to be a blogaholic.Solely on WordPress. Whenever I turned to my wife and uttered those magic 5 words, ‘I’ve started a new blog’ she’d look at me with a mixture of pity and kindness. Thankfully, after starting to developing around 6 other blogs I’ve managed to pull myself back from the abyss and pour my energies into just the one blog. My main one.

    • homebadger says:

      I can’t imagine doing more than one! You are amazing. And your wife sounds awesome! Like my hubby… How did you do it without your brain exploding? “I’m not worthy…” I like your blog! I am starting a list of the books I need to get from the new people I’ve met during this challenge. Yours is one! Thanx for liking and commenting!

  2. I’m sure the bears hear it. 🙂 I’m gonna admit something here: I usually only tweet my blog twice a day and was NEVER on FaceBook until this challenge started. Oops. My Twitter posted to my FaceBook so I never worried about it. Guess I need to interact more, huh? LOL WRITE ON!

    • Sandi Tuttle says:

      I started on Facebook because my Mentor told me I needed to get a presence there and on Twitter at the very least. Went to a kick ass seminar in February (check out the Diva Toolbox for the VOCUS seminar if you are curious) and learned more about how valuable the whole process is. My biggest problem is I could spend hours reading other people’s writing, and I don’t have those hours to spend… Still finding balance. Hugz

  3. EliseOnLife says:

    Love your humor!

Leave a Reply

