Write With Your Own Voice

I’ve learned a lot in the past 20 days of the Author Blog Challenge.  So many talented people, so much invaluable advice, so few free functioning brain cells!  It will take me a long time to process all the gold nuggets in my tin pan.

Some days, I looked in the mirror expecting to see Sponge Barbie Square Pants staring back at me.  That’s just what it felt like; being some big sponge, soaking up all the benefits of other people’s hard work.  Other days, my back hurt from crouching over the rushing stream of information coming out of my computer, like an old time gold hunter, panning for gold in mountain streams. And I would try to follow the yellow brick road being paved in front of my bleary eyes.

One note stands out, though.  One shimmering note, like listening to the end of a ballad on an Evanescence CD, or the trumpet call of some herald in a medieval pageant.  One loud note, standing clear in the forest of words.  Something I have heard before, from people I love and trust, from strangers sharing their impressions. Write with your own voice.

Five words that give permission, encouragement, acceptance, absolution. Five words that tell me all the hard work, soul searching, fighting in the trenches and crying in the night had a purpose. Five words that set me free, give me energy and make me smile.  Five little words that I gladly hear every time I sit down to put my thoughts in writing that I know I can live by.

Write with your own voice.

Sandi Tuttle is the host of the Blog Talk Radio show “An Average Woman in a Superwoman World” (http://www.blogtalkradio.com/sandi-tuttle).

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in Mentors, Self Confidence, Self Improvement, Social Media, women, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Write With Your Own Voice

  1. Hell no. SCREAM. Make the world listen to you. You have something to say! 🙂 Great post today. WRITE ON!

  2. Sandi Tuttle says:

    I’m not a screamer – ask hubby… Thanx!

  3. It’s goingn to take me a long time to recover from this challenge. I wish I could store all the information somewhere. I’m not quite ready for a lot of it. As for your voice – I love the combination of funny and true. Keep on doing what you are doing.

    • Sandi Tuttle says:

      Thanx Alana! I think you are a lot more able than you give yourself credit for! After all, I’ve read YOUR posts!

Leave a Reply

