My Eeyore Moment

I have a lot of trouble blowing my own horn. A lot. My husband calls it my “Eeyore Moment” – meaning any time I have to promote myself, I do the whole head down, foot wiggle, self-effacing posture thing. I practically scream “Thanks for noticing me!”

On the other hand, I have no problem giving people credit for helping me, and love to be able to thank them for all the wonderful things I feel they do for me.

The problem with this attitude is: I could possibly be the most annoying winner on Oscar night. They would be hooking me off the stage with a crane. My list of “Thank You” and “I Appreciate You” testimonials would put a serial insomniac to sleep.

I can imagine myself working my way laboriously down the list, thanking people like my Hairdresser’s Mother’s gardener’s cousin, etc. I am afraid I wouldn’t be able to pare the list down; because I just feel so grateful for all the wonderful help and support I get every day from so many directions!

At the risk of offending a cast of thousands, and forgetting someone Really Important, let me just say that I want to thank the following people (Not the Academy) for sticking with me thus far, and dragging me, kicking and screaming, to the place I am today:

My Wonderful Husband – Who gives me courage and still thinks I’m beautiful after all these years! (This is why he can’t have new glasses…) The man who supports all my wacky ideas, and even adds dimension to them when they are lacking. The man who works like a demon to bless me with this freedom, and is my biggest cheerleader when I have a ‘win’.

My Beloved Daughter – Who listens to me babble, doesn’t tell me I’m boring, refrains from tapping her fingers and rolling her eyes, and actually reads what I write and listens to my podcasts. I know how lucky I am!

My Beautiful Stepdaughters – Who provide me with feedback and wonderful artwork, who have put my feet on this path to start with, and who threw away those voodoo dolls of me (I hope). They make me laugh and keep me on my toes.

My Excellent Mentor, Janet Powers – For alternately cajoling me and kicking me in the backside to get me moving when I get too far into my ‘Tuttle shell’. For listening to my babble and finding the gold among the gravel. For being willing to put up Big Huge Road Signs pointing “This Way” when I lose focus, and for being at the birthing of An Average Woman.

My Furry Kidlets – Who make me leave the computer and romp with them, who share their joy and love with me, and help me to recharge my batteries with their slobbery kisses.

And finally, my Amazing Friends – Who put up with me when I am in Mudge Mode, when I am distracted working two dozen different things in my fuzzy head, and who love me anyway.

Thanks for noticing me!  I love you guys.

Sandi Tuttle is the host of the Blog Talk Radio show “An Average Woman in a Superwoman World” (http://www.blogtalkradio.com/sandi-tuttle).

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in Aging, Body Image, Children, Dogs, Humor, Mentors, Pets, Self Confidence, Self Improvement, Stepmothers, women, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Eeyore Moment

  1. Jo Michaels says:

    Lady, I gotta get you into a self-empowerment class with me!! You are woman! ROAR, dammit!! 🙂 WRITE ON!!

Leave a Reply

