Blogging Changed My Life (UBC – Day 1)

That’s a pretty broad statement. But probably true. In fact, it is true.

When I joined the 28 Day Author Blog Challenge for June, I had personal goals. The main one was to get myself into a daily blogging mindset. To develop the discipline to make a daily addition, and to keep it interesting.  I hadn’t blogged regularly before, and with my new website coming up, I wanted to be able to commit to keeping it fresh, fun, and current.

Little did I know what would happen!

Photo from dreamstime.comI found myself carried away! The prompts forced me to think. Really think. Serious, sit and stare at the monitor and turn it over in my head thinking. It was a rush! And the people… I met amazing, talented, giving, sharing people from all over the world.  Not a dweeb or creepy crasher in the bunch. Just these huge talented minds, writing and sharing. Talk about being in overwhelm!

I felt the pangs of withdrawal, even as I breathed a sigh on Day 28. I had done what I set out to do. Even as I was working with my web designer on tweaking the website, building an etsy.com page to sell my products and making the time to read as many of my fellow contestant’s posts as my poor, aching brain could take in, I couldn’t believe it was over.

Ultimate Blog Challenge

I wanted more. More writing. More contact. More inspiration. More feedback. So, here I am again, starting the 31-day Ultimate Blog Challenge. More, more, more…Artwork from dreamstime.com

Either I am a closet masochist, or I have become insatiable for the sense of community I felt being part of a challenge.  Either way, at least I’m enjoying the ride!

Sandi Tuttle is the host of the Blog Talk Radio show “An Average Woman in a Superwoman World” (http://www.blogtalkradio.com/sandi-tuttle).

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in Humor, Self Improvement, Social Media, women, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Blogging Changed My Life (UBC – Day 1)

  1. Sandi Tuttle says:

    Thanx, Marcie! Your approval/like is a Biggie with me!

  2. Sandi, I think your point about being part of a community hits the target perfectly! (I missplelled your name somewhere earlier today and I’m sorry for that.) When I figure out Goodreads, I’ll connect there too.

    • homebadger says:

      I had trouble getting the hang of Goodreads, too. Probably haven’t done it right yet… Thank you for your great comment! Don’t worry about the name – no one spells it right, really. Even my boss, and I’ve been there more than three years. As long as they don’t call me ‘late for dinner’ as my Nana used to say… Good luck!

  3. Pamm says:

    Exciting! This is my first Blog Challenge and I am really into it!

  4. THis is my first time in a blogging challenge. Great to see how it has impacted people already.

    • homebadger says:

      You are going to love it! Speaking as an ‘old hand’ :-), yeah, with a whole one challenge under my stretchy belt – it really gave me such reassurance that the world is filled with lovely people! You can do it!

  5. I joined A Round of Words in 80 Days a while back and was thrilled with the unexpected words of encouragement I received. I, too, love these online communities. I wish you all the best with the UBC. We can do this! (And all the best with your business as well.)

    • homebadger says:

      A Round of Words in 80 Days? Sounds like such fun! Isn’t it exciting to find that people are so warm and kind? Thank you so much! And yes, we CAN do it! Thanx, too, for the encouragement! Tomorrow’s the day, and my head is in a whirl!

      • I think one of the biggest challenges is to focus on one thing at once . . . so hard for those of us who are eclectically-interested or who just plain have several balls in the air at any given moment.

  6. Nice blog and it makes me want to keep reading. It is also motivational and makes me want to go for the full ride to the end of the challenge.

    • homebadger says:

      Thank you Jessica! You should definitely go the full ride! You gain so much more than you give – and it is unintentional. Just a gift from the whole process! Scary, but true!

  7. More is a beautiful mindset! It shows your willingness to share you with all of us! Great inspirational post!

    • homebadger says:

      Thanks Minette! Such a pretty name… It’s kind of addicting – once you allow yourself to open up, just a teeny bit, it’s like you have to keep doing it…

  8. Great to see you here on this challenge! I had a similar experience with the Author Blog Challenge. It was the first time that I used the facilitator’s prompts to generate ideas each day for writing. Sometimes it went a completely different direction than I thought it would but it was so much fun and very satisfying to write so spontaneously. I look forward to reading more in this challenge from you!

  9. Sandi Tuttle says:

    I love your writing, too! I like the way you described it! Just exactly how I feel! I’m glad to be sharing this cyberspace with you again!

  10. Heya, I have just started out on my blogging journey but I am enjoying it so far. I have met some great people and I am hoping to be doing this for a long long time to come! I look forward to your updates as we go through the 31 day challenge.

  11. I wish I had the time to do another one but I’m gonna have to wait until December. Le Sigh. I’ll pop in on you now and then though 🙂 WRITE ON!

Leave a Reply

