My Unfortunate Coffee Jones – Day 13

Being away from home brings unexpected benefits and challenges. I want to share two special ones. Techno challenge and coffee withdrawal.

I’m writing this on a new tablet. With a keyboard. I got the keyboard because I couldn’t find the special keys on the touch screen. Except the keyboard can’t keep up – so I keep having to go back and delete things. And I didn’t download all the Apps I’m used to using. So I can do a little but not enough! But the benefit is that I now have a tablet for only $89, and I now have a cool Mobile hot spot for only $20/month (because I don’t have an Android phone) and I looked very cool and professional in the airport!

My coffee jones was unexpected. I got instant Starbucks for my mom’s house. It didn’t work out very well. The water in the cup in the microwave boiled over the first time. Big mess. Tried again. It tasted like mud and the handle burned my hand. I gave up and drank water the rest of the night.

Next morning, I woke to a wicked headache and a huge craving. I tried the microwave mud route. But the craving grew almost as fast as the headache. I gave in and begged my friend to help me find coffee.

They dont have Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts here. But they do have Jumpin Jiimmy’s. Coffee, gas, smokes and the cheapest UltraGiant Gulp in town. Within walking distance!

Myy headache is cured! My lack of tech-treats is (painstakingly) overcome for now. Another day in the UBC met – I hope! Let’s see what happens when I click on “Publish”…

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in Current Events, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Unfortunate Coffee Jones – Day 13

  1. Heyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!! Lookie there! It posted! 🙂 Now that you know how and have shown the world, you have no excuses. bwahahahhahhahhaaa!! WRITE ON!

  2. Jumping Jimmy’s Coffee. I love it! Are you going to bring home a souvenir cup?

  3. shawn says:

    Well it looks like all worked out in the end. I don’t drink coffee but I’m trying to give up the diet coke. By Thursdays I’m ready to kill Friday night my hubby brings home a diet coke for me so he can live through the week-end. Cravings are terrible.

  4. homebadger says:

    I know it! I’m still trying to kick my shoe habit, my purse habit, oh, what the heck. I might as well admit that I am addicted to pretty much everything in my life… Sad case here! 🙂

  5. Fun post. I, too, have traveled with Starbucks via to add to water – there’s something missing about it.

Leave a Reply

