Sleep and Meds

minions2I am finding that no matter how determined I am, no matter how successful my meditations, I am at the mercy of this process. I’m not complaining. It wouldn’t do any good! But all the things the nurse told me are coming to pass, and it’s tough for a badger not to be in control of simply everything!

The fatigue and nausea hit on Sunday. I took my meds faithfully, and I am so grateful that I have them! I also spent most of the day like a bump on a log, snoozing. Rich says that it is OK, because I am catching up on all the sleep I wasn’t getting. I love having permission!

Another thing that is changing is my sense of taste and smell. I remember my dear Janet telling me that shipping wraps with a dryer sheet wasn’t always a good idea, because cancer patients have their sense of smell completely whacked. She is so right!

My sense of taste is becoming it’s own little challenge. I think it was afraid I would be bored or lazy, sleeping so much. So my taste buds decided to keep me on my toes. When I’m not on my knees, praying to the Lavatory Goddess. Brings back memories of misspent nights … Good Times!

I find I am craving fruits, vegetables. My current passion is V8 juice. I had some in the garage, and I could happily set up an IV with the stuff. The most surprising change is that I can’t tolerate coffee. Me! The coffee freak from way back – I can’t do it! (I hope things go back to normal after this, because not being a coffee drinker would give me one more identity crisis at my age!)

The wonderful notes and comments from my friends in my Support Group have been better than meat and potatoes for me! So much love, so many things to help! I wish I could wrap my arms around you all and hug you like crazy!!!!!

I wish I could say that all my posts will be full of chuckles, but I don’t think even this Badger can manage that. Today’s message for anyone reading this, or getting ready to go through this is: listen to the nurses, absolutely take your meds, and don’t feel bad about dozing the days away! #LetSleepingBadgersLie #MakingCancerMyBitchIn2015

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in blogging, cancer, Coping, Humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sleep and Meds

  1. Peggy Nolan says:

    Sleep dear friend, sleep. Sleep allows your body to get to work – healing you.

    Oh…and just wait til you’re craving Mongolian BBQ – the hotter and spicey the better because your tastes buds have gone on vacation without you. Loved my Mongolian BBQ πŸ™‚

  2. My best friend craved Steve’s Key Lime Pies – but Brooklyn is a bit far for you to travel right now. Stay strong, my blogging friend!

  3. homebadger says:

    My current passion is applesauce. Woke in the middle of the night, uttering the fateful word “Applesauce”….. spooky! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

