Being Freed From Tyranny

BigHeadChickenI admit the title is somewhat tongue-in-cheek. I am not oppressed. I am not making light of true oppression. What I am doing is explaining how I see the next step in my journey.

For one minute, think about how much time, money and effort we spend, as women, on our hair. If it’s curly, we want it straight. If it’s straight, we want it curly. We change the color, length, and style constantly. We are never happy. We buy special shampoo. We buy cheap shampoo. We twist, frizz, grease, straighten, heat, glue and torture the tops of our heads to try to make ourselves look a certain way. And still, we are never happy.

I, for one, have spent tens of thousands of dollars in my 60 years, being a slave to fashion and hair trends. Women my age remember trying to get their hair to look like Farrah Fawcett. I had hair like Kate Jackson on a bad day, but I tried my darndest to make it flip and curl and pouf. I have been so many different colors in the 45 years I have been coloring my hair that I have no idea what the real color might be. I have gotten perms that made me look like I stuck my finger in an outlet. Even my mother used to perm my hair, and cut it with June Alyson bangs. At 8, with my pussy cat glasses and a frizz around my ears and a creepy little fringe on my forehead, I dutifully went to have the Christmas pictures taken. Yes, one of the many childhood memories I am very happy to have put in the “Dead Files” box in my mind.

So now, I am going to be losing my hair. I can look at this with dread and dismay, or I can get real about it. It’s not like I ever had some magnificent set of flowing locks. (Think Amal Clooney.) I have never been one of those people who had a thick cascade they could bunch into a ponytail and stick out the back of a baseball cap, and look sexy. I am one of the very lucky women who will not be mourning the loss of my 60 year struggle with genetics versus fashion.

I am looking at this as a fresh start. I may love the color that comes in. If not, I have a stylist who is a literal magician with goop and foils. I am told it will come in coarser and possibly even curly. Does that mean I can throw away my curling iron? No more burning my ear tips and neck? Twist my arm! I am going to be coming back a new, improved Sandi. And I am excited to see what I’m going to get!

For all you ladies out there who may be facing the same journey: Unless you had Farrah Hair to begin with, maybe you should consider this a way to spend less on hairstyles and more on shoes! For me, I am going to have a party with a few very special girlfriends, and we are going to buzz away my self-imposed slavery to my hair forever!!!!!

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in Aging, cancer, Fashion, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being Freed From Tyranny

  1. Sandi, I loved your sharings through the Ultimate Blog Challenge, in which I met you in about 2012. I don’t know if you stopped writing for awhile or if a gltich caused a dearth of your posts over here. But I am glad to be seeing your posts again. I only recently became aware of your cancer adventure. Please know you have my prayers. I loved and shared your healing haiku– so beautiful for healing many conditions! In recent months, we’ve had multiple family health issues over here, so you have my empathy in your journey. All blessings–Kebba

Leave a Reply

