The Cancer Half Time Slump

TUTTLES-8923SQUARECROPWEBI am halfway through my chemotherapy treatments, and I am discovering what I call the Half Time Slump.

The first week, I was nervous and apprehensive. I wasn’t sure what to expect. I had heard a lot of horror stories, and worked hard to put them out of my mind. I spent a lot of time in meditation and visualization, focusing on positive energy and a positive outlook. The first session was actually somewhat anticlimactic. The nurse was explaining the different meds to me, and the possible side effects. She meant well, but the best thing I did was tell her I would rather not read about them. I’m glad I did. Instead of being afraid, I just accepted the treatment and let it do its job.

The 2 weeks before treatment #2 became a learning curve. I found out how to adjust to any problems I had, and by the second week, I felt really good. I was pumped up, still excited to get down to business and beat this thing. I had the whole “Joan of Arc” thing going on.

That adrenaline rush stayed with me through my second infusion. I had no nausea. I never experienced any side effects from the Neulasta shots. I didn’t even feel slightly queasy until 5 days after the infusion. The seasick feeling came and went for 2 days and then it was gone.

Now, I am getting ready for my next infusion in a few days. And the thrill of battle has worn off. I no longer feel like Joan of Arc. I just feel like my new ‘normal’. Except that my mind is racing at warp speed while my body has speed limits. This creates a sensation of “What’s next” that I find both frustrating and a little scary.

I am not sure what will happen after the chemo. Everything is on hold until we see how successful we are at destroying the tumor. I may need surgery. I may not. I haven’t asked my surgeon because I don’t want to have anything to fret about. I know that I will find out when it is time to take the next step. But right now, I am in a semi-void, and it can be its own black hole!

I have a lot of mental energy, but limited physical energy. I have to be careful not to go out in crowds a lot because my immune system isn’t 100%. It is miserable and cold outside, so I am pretty much just hanging out. I could dust the furniture, but I just don’t want to. Besides, I did it 2 days ago. I’ve done all the laundry. I have shirts I could iron, but for some reason, the prospect doesn’t excite me. It’s that feeling like being all dressed up and nowhere to go.

I’m not complaining. I am glad that I feel like I could wrestle a tiger. Of course, it would have to be a small tiger, and there would have to be a three minute time limit, or it would eat me. I am glad I am able to eat regular food and not regret it. I am a lucky duck and I am grateful for all my blessings. But I kind of wish that Katy Perry would show up at my house and sing a few numbers to make the half time pass with a little excitement!

Given all my available options, I think I will go and grab my Swiffer and tackle the never ending piles of dog hair in the family room. It may not be a noble enterprise, but once I’m done I can feel like I won another battle for the day!

#MakingCancerMyBitchIn2015

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in blogging, cancer, Coping, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

