Looking Beautiful: Hints and Tips for Finding that Perfect Dress

Often, I find myself out of sync with the world around me. It used to bother me, until I learned that it’s normal for most people. True statement! Most of us are working on our own timeline, and somehow are either ahead of or behind the rest of the world.

For example, today’s prompt for the 28 Day Author Blog Challenge asks: “What will be the topic of your next book”? Ooops. I don’t have a book. I don’t even have an outline of a book. So far, it’s just a concept bouncing around in my fuzzy head. As I said, I’m usually out of sync.

This is going to sound crazy, but while I may not have a first book I already know what my second book will be.  I have a bunch of material already. It’s something I think is missing out there. Something I think is desperately needed by women everywhere. A great stocking stuffer for the holidays. A Book Whose Time Has Come!

I’m going to write a guide to finding the perfect dress.  All the things I wish women knew BEFORE they walk into my store. All the little hints and tips that could make their shopping experience, and their special day, a lot more fun and require a lot fewer margaritas and Advils.

It is sad, but so many of my customers approach looking for their dress as only slightly less pleasant than having a colonoscopy.  Really.  They will come in, already convinced that they won’t find what they want, and in some cases, actually resisting looking at all.  Or they have been to multiple stores, and have had truly bad experiences.

I want to write the guidebook. The definitive document. The Ultimate Dos and Don’ts. Such as:

  • Be ready to shop, be ready to buy
  • Bring shoes and proper undergarments; in fact, Wear undergarments
  • Don’t go by the size on the dress
  • Don’t shop after a 5 margarita lunch

Believe me, there is a lot more. And there is more to say in each topic. Things that will curl your hair and things that will keep you from reaching for that bottle of Valium. Who knew?!

I can spell out ways to save money and anguish. Common courtesy issues that will help women connect with their sales associate. Homely, folksy wisdom that will help them avoid the pitfalls and maybe, just maybe keep them speaking to the bride or groom or whoever during their journey to that Special Event.

It won’t be a weighty tome. Won’t be on the New York Times Best Seller list, I bet. It won’t be hard to read or impossible to put down. It will just be a little ‘how to’ book, designed to help women everywhere have a good time and end up looking the way they want.

Like I said, A Book Whose Time Has Come.

Sandi Tuttle is the host of the Blog Talk Radio show “An Average Woman in a Superwoman World” (http://www.blogtalkradio.com/sandi-tuttle).

About homebadger

I own and operate HomeBadger Creations, Inc., maker of hand made wraps, shawls, ponchos, scarves and tunics for women of all ages. Custom orders are always welcome!
This entry was posted in Current Events, Humor, Mentors, Self Confidence, Self Improvement, Weddings, women, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Looking Beautiful: Hints and Tips for Finding that Perfect Dress

  1. Melissa says:

    Sounds like a great book. Any reason why it’s your second & not your first book?

    • Sandi Tuttle says:

      Good question. Had been thinking about a different one for #1. Maybe I’ll switch! Get it out in time for Prom shopping… help mothers everywhere. Oh wait! No one can save you if you are Prom Shopping. it is the 9th ring of hell, and that’s on a good day. 🙂

  2. You have a HUGE market with that book. Bridal magazines, bookstores, women’s magazines, etc… Let’s do this!! WRITE ON!!

  3. Sandi Tuttle says:

    Yay! OK then! Gotta get through the 28 days, and get my website up next week, and then “To Infinity and beyond…” or maybe just a baby step for womankind…

  4. Pingback: Author Blog Challenge – Day 26 Recap « 28-Day Blog Challenge for Authors

Leave a comment